The Sydney Opera House – Trinkets and Memories #20

Challenge Outline

Being a big fan of several Photo Challenges, I am now hosting one myself.I would love it if you could take part! This is the 20th week to date.  Please click here for the challenge outline. Please post a link to your post on this page and I will make sure I put it on my challenge page for others to see too!

I look forward to checking out your posts!

So without further adieu here is my 20th trinket. Wow can not believe I have been doing this for 20 weeks! Thank you all those who have contributed to date!!!

The Sydney Opera House Micro Cloth

Not all trinkets have to sit on a shelf or be on constant display. Some trinkets can be very functional and useful while still being beautiful and capable of engendering smile bearing memories.

I bought this micro cloth for cleaning glasses at the Sydney Opera house which I rate as one of the world’s most Iconic structures. It seems I am far from alone in this belief as reflected in an expert evaluation report to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, 2007

It stands by itself as one of the indisputable masterpieces of human creativity, not only in the 20th century but in the history of humankind.”

This masterpiece of human creativity is the brain child of architect Jørn Utzon. The story of his design and the building of the Opera house are an interesting read. Construction began in 1959 and The Opera House was finally opened in 1973. Unfortunately due to political interference, Jørn Utzon was not there to witness the opening of his project. He was forced to resign as chief architect in 1966. It wasn’t until 1999 some 33 years later tht he was finally reunited face to face wit his creation.

I carry this “masterpiece” with me in my glasses case. I use it several times a day and get great pleasure not only from the fact that suddenly my blurry vision is restored to sharpness after all those smudgy finger prints are dealt to,  but also from the vision it restores in my memory.

The Sydney Opera House, the Sydney Harbour Bridge and its surrounds are truly panoramic. The harbour is constantly and justifiably ranked as one of the top 10 beautiful world harbours with the Opera house being one of its shining jewels.

Not matter how many times I visit Sydney I can easily spend a happy day hanging out in the harbour area, soaking up the views, people watching, and strolling around the harbour and enjoying the botanic gardens. In fact come this Christmas Eve that is exactly what I plan on doing as I have a lengthy layover in Sydney on my way home to NZ. Thing could be worse, right!

I have memories of doing the Harbour Bridge walk, taking a ferry across to Bondi and strolling through the market, enjoying the Rocks and just sitting on the steps of the Opera House and admiring its beautiful lines and watching the busy comings and goings of boats, ferries and cruise ships in the harbour.

I look forward to visiting this beautiful city again many times in the future.

Yoroshiku Onegai shimasuimages (1)

Leanne


.

2 responses to “The Sydney Opera House – Trinkets and Memories #20

Views, impressions, feedback or just a chat are all welcome!

