Grandad – Travel Trinkets and Memories #25

Challenge Outline

Being a big fan of several Photo Challenges, I am now hosting one myself.I would love it if you could take part! This is the 25th week to date.  Please click here for the challenge outline. Please post a link to your post on this page and I will make sure I put it on my challenge page for others to see too!

I look forward to checking out your posts!

So without further adieu here is my 25th trinket.

Trinket from my Grandad

Not all trinkets are bought. Some are gifts or inherited. I was looking through MY OBT’s Gift Guide and I saw a calendar that took me straight to a very special trinket that I treasure because it belonged to my Grandad.

My grandparents lived across the road from us. When my sisters and I were little, we loved sneaking across there early in the morning and snuggling up in bed with them.

I used to love changing the date on this for Grandad. I remember my Grandad making us toast in the morning. He would always put the spread first and then the butter, assuring us it was much better that way. We thought it was hilarious.

I remember Christmas holidays with Nana and Grandad in their caravan at a seaside camping ground. There was a carnival every year and I remember my horror, embarassment and ultimately the laughter and pride when Grandad won the knobbly knees contest basically because he “down trou-ed” on stage rather than rolling his trousers up! It became a family legend retold many times over the years.

I look at this wee trinket which has the world on it and wonder if Grandad has any idea of my travels and places I have been. Somehow I think he does. It has been almost 20 years since he passed but he still lives vividly in our memories. I am sure he watches over us. I can picture him and Nan having a cuppa and keeping an eye on happenings down below. Hope you are following my blog Grandad!

Yoroshiku Onegai shimasuimages (1)

Leanne

 

8 responses to “Grandad – Travel Trinkets and Memories #25

Views, impressions, feedback or just a chat are all welcome!

