A different kind of Rocking Horse. Trinkets and Memories #39

Being a big fan of several Photo Challenges, I am now hosting one myself. I would love it if you could take part! This is the 39th week to date.  Please click here for the challenge outline. Please post a link to your post on this page and I will make sure I put it on my challenge page for others to see too!

I will be taking a break from my weekly trinket posts after #40 as I am in the process of packing up everything and heading home to NZ for family reasons. I would still love to see any of your trinkets and if you link to my challenge page I will list it with the others to date. I will be back but it may take a few months!

I look forward to checking out your posts!

So without further adieu here is my 39th trinket

Rocking Horse made by my dad

This funny wee fellow is counter balanced by the lead ball and rocks on the frame. The jockey looks like he is urging the horse on to the finish line.

My dad had one of these as a child and has literally made hundreds more out in his man cave workshop. He cast the lead balls himself and has spent many hours putting them together and painting them up. This wee guy is a little rough around the edges as my dad’s health is beginning to decline but I love that he made it from scratch and it has a link to his childhood. In this day and age of computers and electronics, I am pleasantly surprised to see my friend’s little ones play with this old fashioned toy. They are quite fascinated by the way it seems to teeter on its back feet yet has such a range of movement.

Once I am back in NZ I will do a post on a beautiful rocking horse dad made when his first grandaughter was born. It is a stunner as is she!.

Yoroshiku Onegai shimasuimages (1)

Leanne

 

 

 

4 responses to “A different kind of Rocking Horse. Trinkets and Memories #39

  1. Leanne, my mom made a rocking horse for our girls when they were little. I’ll have to post a photo of it one day. But I’m more concerned that you are moving home, which to me indicates something very wrong. Prayers for safe travel and that all goes well during this process, as well as for whatever circumstances are necessitating the move.

    janet

    Like

Views, impressions, feedback or just a chat are all welcome!

