Gift of Time – Trinket and Memories #35

Being a big fan of several Photo Challenges, I am now hosting one myself. I would love it if you could take part! This is the 35th week to date.  Please click here for the challenge outline. Please post a link to your post on this page and I will make sure I put it on my challenge page for others to see too!

I also thought this trinket fits in well with The Daily Post’s Weekly Challenge – Time

I look forward to checking out your posts!

So without further adieu here is my 35th trinket

Gift of Time

IMG_6075

This beautiful little clock with a Mikimoto pearl was a gift from my dear friend Koichi.

I first met Koichi when I was a college student and about 18. He came to NZ on a working holiday and ended up sharing a flat with me and my friends. Koichi was an unusual guy for a young Japanese man. He was quite a big guy and overweight. As I got to know him, I realised that school life as a teenager had been tough for him with bullying issues and health issues and he had spent quite a bit of time away from school.

What was amazing was his English was great and out of his own societal constraints in Japan, he was outgoing and a lovely guy to be around. After he had done his stint in NZ he headed back to Japan and became very involved with the working holiday programme. He continued to meet lots of foreigners and always showed them great kindness.

Koichi was always there for me during my first long stint in Japan. I knew if I had a problem he would always be there to help. After I left Japan we kept in touch and would always meet up when I visited Japan with my school groups.

The last time we met, he gave me this beautiful “gift of time”. It was a kind of a funny story. He apologised and said it was a late wedding gift by about 4 years or so. I had to break the news to him that unfortunately my marriage had been rather short lived and we were no longer together. The look on his face was priceless. He was quick off the mark and said to consider it a consolation gift! I still have a giggle when I see my wee clock.

Sadly, the day I received this clock was truly the last time I saw Koichi, as his health issues were serious and had followed him into adulthood. He passed away aged about 40. I often think I wish I could have given Koichi the gift of time.

This beautiful clock contains memories of happy times with a dear friend. It is a true treasure just as he was.

Yoroshiku Onegai shimasuimages (1)

Leanne

 

 

11 responses to “Gift of Time – Trinket and Memories #35

  1. Pingback: Time (Book Reader) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?·

Views, impressions, feedback or just a chat are all welcome!