Tanzania – Travel Trinkets and Memories Challenge #3

Challenge Outline

Being a big fan of several Photo Challenges, I am going to try and host one myself. I am not sure how long it will last but would love it if you could take part!  Please click here for the challenge outline. I’d love you take part. Please post a link to your post on this page and I will make sure I put it on my challenge page for others to see too!

I look forward to checking out your posts!

So without further adieu here is my 3rd trinket.

2014 Tanzania – Ngorongoro Crater Safari and Zanzibar

This is one of my latest travel trinkets.

In August 2014 my good friend and I met up in Arusha Tanzania for one of my most challenging trips ever. We did an 8 day trek up Kilimanjaro  (a mega post in itself), we then visited a wonderful school and orphanage called Peace Matunda (another post in the making)

Peace Matunda organised a fantastic, tailor made safari for us. It was incredibly reasonable price wise and we got to adjust the itinerary to suit our needs. For me the best thing was it was a local operation so I knew the money was going into the local economy and I knew that 15% of the profit went back into the operation of the amazing school and home for the children.

The specific memories this wee elephant brings to mind are our safari and Zanzibar where I found him. Our Safari took us to a Masai village and a boma, the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro Crater.

The crater is a spectacular game reserve. We saw so much game, lions, elephants, zebra, warthogs, hyena, hippo, bird life and more. A large elephant came into our camp ground at night to drink from the water tank. I remember vividly seeing a family herd wandering through the grasses and catching glimpse of the baby elephant hold the tail of its elder just like a child holds hands.

I had my birthday in the Serengeti and the day started with a fabulous sunrise and a morning game drive. Memories of the elegant yet gangly giraffes feeding from the tops of trees as the morning dawned.

Zanzibar is known as the spice island and a jewel of a place in the Indian ocean off the coast of Tanzania. It was a stunning place. We stayed several nights in Old Stone town and this is where I purchased this trinket. The food markets and cuisine were superb, we had a wonderful cooking lesson, visited a spice farm and wandered the narrow alley ways.

I love that this elephant is made from a recycled air freshener can. In so many of the poorer countries rubbish is such a big problem. There were others, every one unique as they were made from different tins and cans, everyone different just like the real elephants in the wild, identifiable by a torn ear, a broken tusk or a scarred hide.

So many memories linked to such a small trinket.

Travel Trinkets and Memories Challenge #1 #2

Yoroshiku Onegai Shimasuimages (1)

Leanne

10 responses to “Tanzania – Travel Trinkets and Memories Challenge #3

  1. Amazing! Your writing totally inspired my soul! I sooooo want to travel like that! And those little elephants are cute!
    ❤️Greta

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Janet Yes was! An 4 in 1 Epic Trip, Please see my reply to Greta! My dream now is to go back one day and volunteer at Peace Matunda where I sponsor an amazing wee guy called Godson. One day ……..

      Like

Views, impressions, feedback or just a chat are all welcome!