A family treasure, my treasured family. Trinkets and Memories #40

Being a big fan of several Photo Challenges, I am now hosting one myself. I would love it if you could take part! This is the 40th week to date and after this, I am taking a wee break for a couple of months as my trinkets have all been packed up due to my imminent return home to NZ.

However if you have some trinkets and memories you would like to post, please don’t let my absence stop you! If you pop a link on my page, I will visit and revel in your memories with you.   Please click here for the challenge outline. Please post a link to your post on this page and I will make sure I put it on my challenge page for others to see as soon as I have the chance to do so!

I look forward to checking out your posts!

So without further adieu here is my 40th trinket or rather a true treasure and holder of very special memories.

My Grandmother’s engagement ring.

With family on my mind and my return home to NZ soon, it seems fitting that my final offering for a while is not a mere travel trinket, but rather a very special treasure that travels with me wherever I go. It is my Nana’s engagement ring.

Thinking back to Nana’s wedding photos and doing the math with my Uncle’s age I guess Nana and Grandad were married in the 1930’s so it means this ring is nearing 90 years old. It is worn very thin in the band. When I first received it from my mum, I had to have the setting built up as it was threatening to crumble but the memories of the wonderful lady who first wore it are still and always will be strong..

Nana was always close by and lived across the road from us when we were growing up. She taught me to sew dolls clothes and how to crochet. She taught me how to make scones. Early in the morning, I would sneak out of the house and run over to Nan’s to snuggle up in bed with her. I remember my chagrin when I got there early one morning to find my younger sister had beaten me to it!

My Nana’s hands were strong and capable.In her later years, I used to be fascinated by her hands and the wrinkles. I remember sitting on her lap and playing with her hands and twisting this very ring. I can see her hands holding a cuppa and a piece of her “oh so” delicious shortbread.

I remember the very hot day we went for a drive and the ice creams melted all over us, so sticky, so we stopped at a local river and paddled and splashed around in our undies.

I remember spending sick days off school with her in her warm lounge and watching the lunchtime soap “Those were the Days of our Lives”. Didn’t it use to start with something along the lines of “Like sands through the hourglass so are the days of our lives”

Like sands through the hourglass, the memories of my nan flow every time I wear this ring. Both Nan and my mum are amazing ladies, I and my sisters are lucky to have had  two such awesome ladies in our lives. The ring is is a family heirloom that I merely hold in trust. One day I will pass it along with the family stories to my niece.

Love you Nana, it is nice to have you watching over me. I know you must be because I have never once lost the ring! Hope you are checking out the blog. xxxxx

Yoroshiku Onegai shimasuimages (1)

Leanne

 

 

9 responses to “A family treasure, my treasured family. Trinkets and Memories #40

  1. How beautiful! I am deeply moved by your love for your Nan. The ring is a lovely reminder of her. Wish I’d learned to sew dolls’ clothes and to crochet!
    A week ago, I wrote a 100-word flash (non)fiction piece about my grandmother, and I, too made a reference to her strong hands.
    This seems to be a season for remembering grandmothers! 🙂

    Like

Views, impressions, feedback or just a chat are all welcome!